Australia's scariest authors announced

Which Australian author wrote the best horror story or novel in 2007? The Australian Horror Writers Association is on the brink of answering that question with the release of the finalists for the 2008 Australian Shadows Award. The Australian Shadows Award is an annual jury-judged literary award issued by the Australian Horror Writers Association (AHWA) that honours the best works of Australian dark fiction published in the preceding year.

This year's panel of judges named finalists from Sydney (Terry Dowling), Melbourne (Matthew Chrulew), Brisbane (Jason Nahrung), Adelaide (David Conyers), and Perth (Martin Livings), making the 2008 shortlist a truly interstate affair.